Cat's Musings

What it feels like to be a writer… | June 2, 2010

So, this is my self-proclaimed topic for the night.

Here we go!

1. A writer is a writer is a writer.
You don’t just come up with it one day and be like “Well,  med school/other school-oriented career didn’t work out, so hey, maybe I can WRITE A BOOK?!”

I’m not saying that some people can’t write books out of thin air like that, and I mean, that’s what I do anyway, but it’s different for writers. We’ve always known we could create stories, have full-blown conversations with our characters in our heads while walking to class, and have filled pages and pages of notes on who did what and who knows what about who.
      I’ve always known that I’ve been a storyteller – very much like Wendy Darling from J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan.

  I could just think of  a person, male or female, animal, or human.. maybe even something else, and just KNOW their whole story, where they were going, what they had done and the why.
 And so,  I wrote.
 I usually never got very far, inspiration from movies hardly ever seemed to pan out into a full-length novel, and I gave up.
  Until I read The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton – and when I heard she got published at sixteen? I was all: “Hello! This is what I’m meant to do!”
 I wrote… really crappy stuff for a long while, trying to copy her POV, the gang persona and its psychological bonds but just couldn’t do it. It seemed so wrong to me, because I was ruining her masterpiece. Sure, I changed names, dates, and the time in which it took place, the setting, too, but it was just sooooo wrong.

 I gave up on writing for a long while, trying to find my voice, and to find out what I really cared enough about to even consider sitting down and penning out a story.

 Like Neverland was my very first novel – all done up, hand-written when I was in the tenth grade. I wrote about a teenage girl, who just so happened to look like me, by coincidence I tell you, who felt completely caged in by her life. Which is exactly the way I felt.
 I was a huge Peter Pan fan when I was a kid, hell, I still am, and I was aso deathly afraid to grow up. The story is how that girl decided that growing was for the best, and in the end, how it would make her a better person.

I guess the moral of the story is… write what you feel strongly about, not necessarily what you know. And never give up, either.

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Sounds like you’d be interested in this book…
    it’s based on Barrie’s own idea for more Pan adventure!
    Click!
    BELIEVE!

    Comment by The Never Fairy — June 3, 2010 @ 10:44 AM

  2. Oh wow thank you!

    Comment by catk27 — June 3, 2010 @ 3:12 PM

  3. No problem… there’s this great book, too.
    Click!

    The only two (thus far) books on Pan besides Barrie’s you’ll need 😉

    Comment by The Never Fairy — June 3, 2010 @ 4:04 PM


Leave a Reply

About author

Student by day... Super reader and writer by night...

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

